Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Miohippus - Facts and Figures

Miohippus - Facts and Figures Name: Miohippus (Greek for Miocene horse); pronounced MY-oh-HIP-us Habitat: Plains of North America Historical Epoch: Late Eocene-Early Oligocene (35-25 million years ago) Size and Weight: About four feet long and 50-75 pounds Diet: Plants Distinguishing Characteristics: Small size; relatively long skull; three-toed feet    About Miohippus Miohippus was one of the most successful prehistoric horses of the Tertiary period; this three-toed genus (which was closely related to the similarly named Mesohippus) was represented by about a dozen different species, all of them indigenous to North America from about 35 to 25 million years ago. Miohippus was a bit larger than Mesohippus (about 100 pounds for a full-grown adult, compared to 50 or 75 pounds); however, despite its name, it lived not in the Miocene but the earlier Eocene and Oligocene epochs, a mistake for which you can thank the famous American paleontologist Othniel C. Marsh. Like its similarly named relatives, Miohippus lay on the direct evolutionary line that led to the modern horse, genus Equus. Somewhat confusingly, although Miohippus is known by over a dozen named species, ranging from M. acutidens to M. quartus, the genus itself consisted of two basic types, one adapted for life on prairies and the other best suited to forests and woodlands. It was the prairie variety that led to Equus; the woodland version, with its elongated second and fourth toes, spawned small descendants that went extinct in Eurasia at the cusp of the Pliocene epoch, about five million years ago.

Sunday, February 23, 2020

You can decide the topic whatever you want by those requirements I Essay - 8

You can decide the topic whatever you want by those requirements I posted - Essay Example Christo and Jeanne-Claude paintings are an excellent example of works of art that successfully exhibited this concept of time and motion. While most painting requires careful handling of the brush, Jackson Pollock approach was unique because he did not use a brush directly on canvas. It is interesting to look at how Pollock was able to bring out time and motion in his unique approach to painting. Diversion from the conventional way of painting helped Jackson Pollock tap into a new world of art. He fixed the canvas on the floor or wall, accessing it from four sides, he poured and dripped paint from a can manipulating it with sticks and knives (Serafini 63). As Pollock put it, having the canvas on the floor made it easy for him as he felt nearer and a part of the painting (Serafini 20). He was able to express his unconscious moods. It resulted in abstract expression through action painting often related to the surrealist theories (Serafini 63). Jackson Pollock ingeniously incorporated the property of time and motion in his works. Through pouring, dripping, flicking and spilling, Pollock was able to put the effects he intended on his paintings (Serafini 28). Considering his painting of 1952 named the Blue Poles, the element of motion and time is very pronounced. One sees how Pollock used his paintbrush to drop and flick paint on the canvas (Serafini 28). The movement of the brush and the flicking action is quite evident in the way the paint is splattered on the canvas. The concept of time and motion is capture in this movement seen on Pollock’s work. The Blue Poles is, therefore, a two-dimensional painting that has the aspect of motion and time presented. In visual arts, texture is a valuable element required for a successful work of art. Texture is the surface quality that is apparent on a piece of art work (Serafini 42). Identifiable through visual and physical qualities,

Friday, February 7, 2020

Comprehensive classroom management plan Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 1250 words

Comprehensive classroom management plan - Essay Example Philosophical Statement I believe that an effective classroom management puts into consideration the unique individual capability in need of a safe, supportive, and a motivating environment in which to improve socially, emotionally, and intellectually towards building a successful career. It is my wish as a professional educator to assist my students to reach their full potentials by providing the conducive and supportive environment, which encourage the sharing of various classroom and coursework ideas. I expect the students in my classroom to have diversified levels of learning desires in their preferred areas. I feel that a learning community is in a way that the students, teachers and parents, uncover an environment that encourages a positive student-teacher relationship and effective parent-teacher relations. It is my responsibility to ensure that there is no student isolated from accessing equal education in my classroom. Equally significant to students’ self-esteem and self-empowerment is have an opportunity to contribute towards relevant issues in classroom meetings. Scheduling regular classroom meetings helps identify individual student needs fostering confidence and support among students. Inviting students’ dialogue about what affects them and their contributions on the learning process contributes to learning directed towards the students’ needs and interests. I believe group work is a key to a supportive learning process in a classroom. My profession is engrossed to ensuring that individual students potential are nurtured efficiently and provide an environment that encourages talent growth for students academically, socially, and psychologically. I see my role as an educator as ensuring that course content knowledge is transferred to students. Moreover, I am committed cultivating the students’ critical thoughts capabilities by providing the relevant information and will strive towards instilling curiosity among students, which will create a challenging learning environment. Classroom Arrangement General classroom arrangement is as shown in the classroom map below, designed to ensure minimal distractions and a spacious student seating arrangement for ease of movement. On entering the classroom, the first thing the students see the bulletin placed direct situated directly to the entrance. This sets students mind on what to expect for the day such as lecture topic, assignments, and classroom meetings. On the entrance, a tray containing common commodities such as pencil sharpeners whereby students can pick one in case they left their sharpeners home. The carpet on the floor brings a sense of comfort to the students setting a comfortable learning environment (Fraser, 2012). The bags and other student belongings are packed at the back of the classroom to minimize distractions and ease movement. The desks are spacious and easily accessible to all students including those with physical disabilities (Hallah an et al, 2012). Several resources are strategically arranged in the classroom to facilitate studies and research carried by the students. The computers are placed on close to the walls to

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Personal Development Essay Example for Free

Personal Development Essay I have been employed as care worker with my Company, for the last 4 years. Upon joining the Company, I received an induction, which covered guidance and training, in areas applicable for my role. I also received a job description, which informed me of what I was expected to do within my role. When I first started working here, I had no previous experience as a carer, so I found the induction very informative, to support my role, and responsibilities. It informed me of the organisational policies and procedures, which I had to sign, to say I had read and understood their contents. My induction training also made me aware of the legislation that relates to my role, and the GSCC code of practice, that all social care workers must work to. The General Social Care Council,(GSCC) is the social care workforce regulator in England and their job is to regulate the conduct and training of the care workforce. As a care employee, I am required to abide by the code of practice as defined by the GSCC. see more:explain what reflective practice is This code states that I should: * Protect the rights and promote the interests of service users and carers * Strive to establish and maintain the trust and confidence of service users and carers * Promote the independence of service users while protecting them as far as possible form danger and harm * Respect the rights of service users while seeking to ensure that their behaviour does not harm themselves or other people * Uphold public trust and confidence in social care services * Be accountable for their practice and take responsibility for maintaining and improving their knowledge and skills. During my induction period with the company, I received regular supervision with my line- manager, who assessed my progress, and competence to perform my role. When my induction period ended, my supervision then took/takes place every 3 months. My supervision covers:- * All aspects of my practice * My career development needs * My reflections on training I have attended recently, progress with my NVQ or other qualifications * Information about the policy and procedures in my organisation. * Constructive feedback on my service delivery. My supervision is always held in a confidential setting, between myself and my Manager. My Manager records details of what has been discussed, targets identified, and achievement target dates to be met by me and my Manager. This is my personal development plan, and helps me to record training received, training identified, and knowledge gained. My supervision is my opportunity to discuss issues I am concerned about. Sometimes prior to my supervision, I write down notes on issues I want to raise, so that I do not forget whilst in my supervision. I also receive appraisal (performance review), meetings with my manager, these are usually once a year. This is a review of my performance, summarising what I think I have achieved, and what my manager thinks I have achieved over the last 12 months. I discuss my training record and identify what my Personal Development Plan will be for the next 12 months. I also agree some personal objectives or targets for me to achieve before my next appraisal. Other colleagues I work with may have been asked for their opinions on my work as well. As a care worker I must be accountable for the quality of my work and take responsibility for maintaining and improving my knowledge and skills. This means I identify mandatory training I may need, and refresher courses, to keep my knowledge up to date, and so meet the current care standards. I also receive training from observing more experienced colleagues, who can teach me ‘on the job’ techniques. This is ‘informal’ training, but is most beneficial, along with ‘formal’ training courses I attend. All training helps to improve my service delivery, and enables me to use recommended safe practice in my working role. I can develop my knowledge, skills, and understanding by: * Identifying the knowledge, skills and standards required for my job role. * Reflecting on my practice, and making improvements on previous practice. * Receiving constructive feedback from my manager, and colleagues. * Undertake learning activities that inform my working practice. * Put new skills that I have learned into practice. I attend regular staff meetings, where staff members can discuss service users in a confidential setting. This is good practice as it provides a platform for staff to share their experiences, and gain moral support and advice from colleagues. My employer also provides a counselling service for staff members, due to the ‘pressures’, of the role. I can ask my Manager for this service if I feel work pressures are too much, and my Manager and organisation will support me. If I have a work related problem, I can approach my supervisor, and line manager for support. I feel comfortable in doing this, as I am confident that they will address my issues, and help me to resolve them. I have the opportunity to develop in my role, as my employer arranges regular ‘in-house’, training opportunities. My employer has also encouraged me to undertake my NVQ qualification, and has allowed me ‘paid’ time for study. My employer advertises job vacancies internally, and I have been encouraged to apply for more ‘senior’ positions, for my career progression.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Essay --

Potty training is one milestone, eagerly awaited on by parents. Potty training is a process. The process of potty training takes between three and six months, depending on the child. Potty training takes time, dedication, and patience. There are many steps to training a child, some steps are more difficult and the steps may be difficult for the child to grasp. The process of potty training will be difficult and have setbacks along the way. Before starting the process you need to know if your child is ready. You need to be watching for signs of potty training readiness. The signs include increased interest in using the potty, child feels uncomfortable in diapers, child talks about the potty, child goes to the bathroom on a schedule, child follows instructions, and the child stays dry for longer periods of time. When it comes to age, there is no right age to start potty training because every child is different. Most parents think about training their kids between the ages of eighteen months and three years old. Be sure to not rush the child into potty training too soon from pressure of others. Also before starting the process, you need tools. You may need many different tools to complete this process. The tools include a potty chair, training pants, footsteps, and books or films on potty training. These tools will help the child feel excited about the process, be comfortable, and help them feel independent. Now, the fun part. The process of potty training a child. There are many steps to the process. First, introduce the potty. Introduce the potty to your child around their first birthday. To be successful at this, keep books and films on potty training in the bathroom and talk to he child about potty training on occasions... .... To do this you may use a sticker chart, give the child some candy, or buy the child something they want. Be sure not to go nuts. Doing this will make the child react to praise the same way they act to punishment. Praise and the reward the child, but don't over exaggerate and scare the child. The process of potty training takes time, patience, and dedication. To be successful at this process, stay consistent with the process. Talk to the child about the potty, encourage the child to use the potty, make the process fun, make it comfortable, and reward the child. Learning the process and knowing what you need to do, will help the child be successful at completing this process. Potty training may seem like a difficult task, but doesn't need to be. So, NEVER give up on your child or the process of potty training them. No matter what, you child will be potty trained.

Monday, January 13, 2020

Assuming that the distribution Essay

1. Assuming that the distribution is normal for weight relative to the ideal and 99% of the male participants scored between (–53.68, 64.64), where did 95% of the values for weight relative to the ideal lie? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=5.48, SD=22.93 5.48+1.96(22.93) = 170.5992 5.48-1.96(22.93)=80.7136 (80.71,170.60) 2. Which of the following values from Table 1 tells us about variability of the scores in a distribution? c. 22.57 3. Assuming that the distribution for General Health Perceptions is normal, 95% of the females’ scores around the mean were between what values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=39.71, SD=25.46 39.71+1.96(25.46) = 89.6116 39.71-1.96(25.46) = -10.1916 (-10.19, 89.61) 4. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Pain is normal, 95% of the men’s scores around the mean were between what two values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=52.53, SD=30.90 52.53+1.96(30.90) = 113.094 52.53-1.96(30.90) = -8.034 (-8.03, 113.09) 5. Were the body image scores significantly different for women versus men? Provide a rationale for your answer. Yes, body image scores were significantly higher for women (73.1 Â ± 17.0) than men (60.2 Â ± 17.0). 6. Assuming that the distribution of Mental Health scores for men is normal, where are 99% of the men’s mental health scores around the mean in this distribution? Round your answer to two decimal places. x= 57.09, SD=23.72 57.09+2.58(23.72)= 118.2876 57.09-2.58(23.72)= -4.1076 (-4.11, 118.29) 7. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Physical Functioning in women is normal, where are 99% of the women’s scores around the mean in this distribution? Round your answer to two decimal places. X= 65.20, SD=29.79 65.20+2.58(29.79) = 142.0582 65.20-2.58(29.79) = -11.6582 (-11.66, 142.06) 8. Assuming that the distribution of scores is normal, 99% of HIV-positive body image scores around the mean were between what two values? Round your answer to two decimal places. Body image scores for Male x= 60.22, SD=16.98; Female x= 73.07, SD= 16.93 Male: 60.22+2.58(16.98)= 104.0284 60.22-2.58(16.98)= 16.4116 Female: 73.07+2.58(16.93)= 116.7494 73.07-2.58(16.93)= 29.3906 Male and Female HIV+ Body Image scores combined are between (16.41, 116.75) 9. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Role Functioning is normal, 99% of the men’s scores around the mean were between what values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=50.00, SD=46.29 50.00+2.58(46.29)= 169.4282 50.00-2.58(46.29)=-69.4282 (-69.43,169.43)

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Ethical and Legal Issues Within Wal-Mart - 1562 Words

Introduction Wal-Mart is commonly known for its low prices, clean appearance, and large variety of products; however, the super store has constituently been the center of many ethical issues. From working conditions, wages, benefits, product issues, and even bribery, Wal-Mart has been shrouded in ethical disputes for years. In the next few pages I intend on discussing these issues, the impact they have had on the company, and the actions that management has taken in response to them. Predatory Pricing To begin discussing the ethical issues that Wal-Mart has faced in regards to predatory pricing, we must first understand what predatory pricing is. According to Investopedia.com; predatory pricing is â€Å"the act of setting prices low in an†¦show more content†¦In fact, in 2012, 80 employees walked out of a Wal-Mart to protest the substandard conditions in which they were forced to work (Miles, 2012). As stated in an article published in the Huffington Post; â€Å"workers are forced to work in 120-degree heat without a fan, that the heat and pollutants make the workers vomit and get bloody noses, and that workers are made to work without clean water or regular breaks and with faulty, dangerous equipment† (Miles, 2012). More recently in Illinois, 100 Wal-Mart employees protested outside of Wal-Mart express, demanding better wages and improved working conditions. One protester, Larry Born, described Wal-Mart as a â€Å"predatory employer† who â€Å"pays slave wages†. Mr. Born also stated that â€Å" is repeatedly asked to work eight or nine days in a row† (Rezin, 2013) . This protest in Illinois was held at the same time as another which was taking place in Arkansas, for the same reasons. Issues with Local Communities Generally people are excited when they hear that a Wal-Mart is being built in their community. They envision jobs, savings, convenience, and one stop shopping, and although this is all true; studies have shown that Wal-Mart can have extremely negative effects on the communities in which they are built. In fact, research was done in 2012 to examine the impact a new Wal-Mart wouldShow MoreRelatedBusiness Ethics And Law : Legal And Ethical Issues1213 Words   |  5 PagesLegal and Ethical Issues in Business Business ethics and law are fundamental principles that guide the way businesses operate. Business ethics are decided and formed by each company and differ from one company to another. They are the core values that business owners, managers, and employees use to conduct their daily operations. Acting in an ethical way consists of distinguishing between right and wrong and choosing what is right. Business law is all rules and regulations that all businesses shouldRead MoreWomen vs Walmart1358 Words   |  6 PagesWOMEN VERSE WAL-MART Women Verse Wal-Mart, the Largest Class Action Lawsuit in History Jeremy Banks LEG100 October 31, 2012 Professor, Harden WOMEN VERSE WAL-MART Abstract Women nationwide have joined a class action lawsuit against Wal-Mart. The women are suing based on gender bias. They claim men are promoted faster and receive higher pay. This is especially noticed in the management ranks. The lawsuit could have been avoided with better training within the companyRead MoreThe Importance of Ethical Business Practices: Walmart Law Suites 842 Words   |  4 PagesThis issues study is aimed to explain the importance of ethical business practices which also include social responsibilities and will be compared to an example of an unethical business practice. It will explore the different unethical issues in business, the benefits of running an ethical business and this will be done with reference to a certain case study. Ethics are moral guidelines which govern good behavior. For a business to behave ethically, it must follow strict guidelines which ensureRead MoreCorporate Social Responsiblity and Wal-Mart914 Words   |  4 PagesSocial Responsibility and Wal-Mart Corporations deal with a wide variety of social issues and problems; some directly related to their operations, some are not. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) can be defined as â€Å"the actions of an organization that are targeted toward achieving a social benefit over and above maximizing profits for its shareholders and meeting all its legal obligations† (Ghillyer 78). If this is the case, establishing appropriate and practical ethical guidelines in the workplaceRead MoreCorporate Social Responsibility Essay882 Words   |  4 PagesCorporations deal with a wide variety of social issues and problems; some directly related to their operations, some are not. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) can be defined as â€Å"the actions of an organization that are targeted toward achieving a social benefit over and above maximizing profits for its shareholders and meeting all its legal obligations† (Ghillyer 78). If this is the case, establishing appropriate and practi cal ethical guidelines in the workplace seems to be a reasonable requestRead MoreCase Study : Legal Issues And Wal Mart1573 Words   |  7 PagesCase Study 5: Legal Issues and Wal-Mart Introduction Wal-Mart is one of the largest retailers established worldwide. With the corporation’s growth rate and international recognition, the demand to employ millions of associates, to support its operation, and at a rapidly expanding rate. Because of this, there are potential issues that develop around its growth and reputation, that lead to legal situations. Author, Timothy Jordan on Workplace Fairness (2016) notes, â€Å"all too often, these headlinesRead MoreCurrent Ethical Issue in Business1476 Words   |  6 PagesCurrent Ethical Issue in Business Your Name Here PHL/323 Date Here Instructor’s Name Here Globally, Wal-Mart is the second largest revenue generating company. It is surprising to see so many discriminating issues within the company. Women working for the company are consistently treated unfairly, yet other issues exist. It is as if Wal-Mart has fallen into the negative economic routine. The company is guilty of everyday social discrimination;Read MoreWal Mart As A Symbol Of The United States1613 Words   |  7 PagesOverview: Sam Walton founded Wal-Mart in 1962 in Roger, Arkansas. In a little less than 10 years, Wal-Mart had 38 locations and was opening two stores per year. In 1970, the company started trading in the New York Stock Exchange. By 1979, the company announced a record $1billion sales and it became the first company to do so. Wal-Mart reached record after record during those years, and by the end of 1989, Wal-Mart reported after tax-profits of $1billlion. Wal-Mart now has become a symbol of theRead MoreWal Mart : The Challenge Of Managing Relationships With Stakeholders1598 Words   |  7 PagesWal-Mart: The Challenge of Managing Relationships with Stakeholders The key facts and critical issues presented in Wal-Mart: The challenge of managing relationship with the interested parties involves making ethical decisions and fulfilling these needs for the stakeholders involved consist of the following elements: ïÆ'Ëœ Admitting to mismanage stakeholder’s relationship within the company as a problem: This type of management involves taking care of the treatment of employees, suppliers, the environmentRead MoreBusiness Ethics: Case Studies1238 Words   |  5 Pagesï » ¿Business Ethics Table of Contents Case 1: Monsanto Attempts to Balance Stakeholder Interests. 3 Case 3: Wal-Mart: The Future is Sustainability. 4 Case 6: AIG: Coping with financial and ethical risks. 4 Case 7: Microsoft Manages Legal and Ethical Issues. 5 Case 1: Monsanto Attempts to Balance Stakeholder Interests. Monsanto is a world renowned organization dealing in agriculture products. The seeds produced by the business are genetically modified. The genetically modified agricultural