Friday, February 7, 2020

Comprehensive classroom management plan Essay Example | Topics and Well Written Essays - 1250 words

Comprehensive classroom management plan - Essay Example Philosophical Statement I believe that an effective classroom management puts into consideration the unique individual capability in need of a safe, supportive, and a motivating environment in which to improve socially, emotionally, and intellectually towards building a successful career. It is my wish as a professional educator to assist my students to reach their full potentials by providing the conducive and supportive environment, which encourage the sharing of various classroom and coursework ideas. I expect the students in my classroom to have diversified levels of learning desires in their preferred areas. I feel that a learning community is in a way that the students, teachers and parents, uncover an environment that encourages a positive student-teacher relationship and effective parent-teacher relations. It is my responsibility to ensure that there is no student isolated from accessing equal education in my classroom. Equally significant to students’ self-esteem and self-empowerment is have an opportunity to contribute towards relevant issues in classroom meetings. Scheduling regular classroom meetings helps identify individual student needs fostering confidence and support among students. Inviting students’ dialogue about what affects them and their contributions on the learning process contributes to learning directed towards the students’ needs and interests. I believe group work is a key to a supportive learning process in a classroom. My profession is engrossed to ensuring that individual students potential are nurtured efficiently and provide an environment that encourages talent growth for students academically, socially, and psychologically. I see my role as an educator as ensuring that course content knowledge is transferred to students. Moreover, I am committed cultivating the students’ critical thoughts capabilities by providing the relevant information and will strive towards instilling curiosity among students, which will create a challenging learning environment. Classroom Arrangement General classroom arrangement is as shown in the classroom map below, designed to ensure minimal distractions and a spacious student seating arrangement for ease of movement. On entering the classroom, the first thing the students see the bulletin placed direct situated directly to the entrance. This sets students mind on what to expect for the day such as lecture topic, assignments, and classroom meetings. On the entrance, a tray containing common commodities such as pencil sharpeners whereby students can pick one in case they left their sharpeners home. The carpet on the floor brings a sense of comfort to the students setting a comfortable learning environment (Fraser, 2012). The bags and other student belongings are packed at the back of the classroom to minimize distractions and ease movement. The desks are spacious and easily accessible to all students including those with physical disabilities (Hallah an et al, 2012). Several resources are strategically arranged in the classroom to facilitate studies and research carried by the students. The computers are placed on close to the walls to

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

Personal Development Essay Example for Free

Personal Development Essay I have been employed as care worker with my Company, for the last 4 years. Upon joining the Company, I received an induction, which covered guidance and training, in areas applicable for my role. I also received a job description, which informed me of what I was expected to do within my role. When I first started working here, I had no previous experience as a carer, so I found the induction very informative, to support my role, and responsibilities. It informed me of the organisational policies and procedures, which I had to sign, to say I had read and understood their contents. My induction training also made me aware of the legislation that relates to my role, and the GSCC code of practice, that all social care workers must work to. The General Social Care Council,(GSCC) is the social care workforce regulator in England and their job is to regulate the conduct and training of the care workforce. As a care employee, I am required to abide by the code of practice as defined by the GSCC. see more:explain what reflective practice is This code states that I should: * Protect the rights and promote the interests of service users and carers * Strive to establish and maintain the trust and confidence of service users and carers * Promote the independence of service users while protecting them as far as possible form danger and harm * Respect the rights of service users while seeking to ensure that their behaviour does not harm themselves or other people * Uphold public trust and confidence in social care services * Be accountable for their practice and take responsibility for maintaining and improving their knowledge and skills. During my induction period with the company, I received regular supervision with my line- manager, who assessed my progress, and competence to perform my role. When my induction period ended, my supervision then took/takes place every 3 months. My supervision covers:- * All aspects of my practice * My career development needs * My reflections on training I have attended recently, progress with my NVQ or other qualifications * Information about the policy and procedures in my organisation. * Constructive feedback on my service delivery. My supervision is always held in a confidential setting, between myself and my Manager. My Manager records details of what has been discussed, targets identified, and achievement target dates to be met by me and my Manager. This is my personal development plan, and helps me to record training received, training identified, and knowledge gained. My supervision is my opportunity to discuss issues I am concerned about. Sometimes prior to my supervision, I write down notes on issues I want to raise, so that I do not forget whilst in my supervision. I also receive appraisal (performance review), meetings with my manager, these are usually once a year. This is a review of my performance, summarising what I think I have achieved, and what my manager thinks I have achieved over the last 12 months. I discuss my training record and identify what my Personal Development Plan will be for the next 12 months. I also agree some personal objectives or targets for me to achieve before my next appraisal. Other colleagues I work with may have been asked for their opinions on my work as well. As a care worker I must be accountable for the quality of my work and take responsibility for maintaining and improving my knowledge and skills. This means I identify mandatory training I may need, and refresher courses, to keep my knowledge up to date, and so meet the current care standards. I also receive training from observing more experienced colleagues, who can teach me ‘on the job’ techniques. This is ‘informal’ training, but is most beneficial, along with ‘formal’ training courses I attend. All training helps to improve my service delivery, and enables me to use recommended safe practice in my working role. I can develop my knowledge, skills, and understanding by: * Identifying the knowledge, skills and standards required for my job role. * Reflecting on my practice, and making improvements on previous practice. * Receiving constructive feedback from my manager, and colleagues. * Undertake learning activities that inform my working practice. * Put new skills that I have learned into practice. I attend regular staff meetings, where staff members can discuss service users in a confidential setting. This is good practice as it provides a platform for staff to share their experiences, and gain moral support and advice from colleagues. My employer also provides a counselling service for staff members, due to the ‘pressures’, of the role. I can ask my Manager for this service if I feel work pressures are too much, and my Manager and organisation will support me. If I have a work related problem, I can approach my supervisor, and line manager for support. I feel comfortable in doing this, as I am confident that they will address my issues, and help me to resolve them. I have the opportunity to develop in my role, as my employer arranges regular ‘in-house’, training opportunities. My employer has also encouraged me to undertake my NVQ qualification, and has allowed me ‘paid’ time for study. My employer advertises job vacancies internally, and I have been encouraged to apply for more ‘senior’ positions, for my career progression.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Essay --

Potty training is one milestone, eagerly awaited on by parents. Potty training is a process. The process of potty training takes between three and six months, depending on the child. Potty training takes time, dedication, and patience. There are many steps to training a child, some steps are more difficult and the steps may be difficult for the child to grasp. The process of potty training will be difficult and have setbacks along the way. Before starting the process you need to know if your child is ready. You need to be watching for signs of potty training readiness. The signs include increased interest in using the potty, child feels uncomfortable in diapers, child talks about the potty, child goes to the bathroom on a schedule, child follows instructions, and the child stays dry for longer periods of time. When it comes to age, there is no right age to start potty training because every child is different. Most parents think about training their kids between the ages of eighteen months and three years old. Be sure to not rush the child into potty training too soon from pressure of others. Also before starting the process, you need tools. You may need many different tools to complete this process. The tools include a potty chair, training pants, footsteps, and books or films on potty training. These tools will help the child feel excited about the process, be comfortable, and help them feel independent. Now, the fun part. The process of potty training a child. There are many steps to the process. First, introduce the potty. Introduce the potty to your child around their first birthday. To be successful at this, keep books and films on potty training in the bathroom and talk to he child about potty training on occasions... .... To do this you may use a sticker chart, give the child some candy, or buy the child something they want. Be sure not to go nuts. Doing this will make the child react to praise the same way they act to punishment. Praise and the reward the child, but don't over exaggerate and scare the child. The process of potty training takes time, patience, and dedication. To be successful at this process, stay consistent with the process. Talk to the child about the potty, encourage the child to use the potty, make the process fun, make it comfortable, and reward the child. Learning the process and knowing what you need to do, will help the child be successful at completing this process. Potty training may seem like a difficult task, but doesn't need to be. So, NEVER give up on your child or the process of potty training them. No matter what, you child will be potty trained.

Monday, January 13, 2020

Assuming that the distribution Essay

1. Assuming that the distribution is normal for weight relative to the ideal and 99% of the male participants scored between (–53.68, 64.64), where did 95% of the values for weight relative to the ideal lie? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=5.48, SD=22.93 5.48+1.96(22.93) = 170.5992 5.48-1.96(22.93)=80.7136 (80.71,170.60) 2. Which of the following values from Table 1 tells us about variability of the scores in a distribution? c. 22.57 3. Assuming that the distribution for General Health Perceptions is normal, 95% of the females’ scores around the mean were between what values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=39.71, SD=25.46 39.71+1.96(25.46) = 89.6116 39.71-1.96(25.46) = -10.1916 (-10.19, 89.61) 4. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Pain is normal, 95% of the men’s scores around the mean were between what two values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=52.53, SD=30.90 52.53+1.96(30.90) = 113.094 52.53-1.96(30.90) = -8.034 (-8.03, 113.09) 5. Were the body image scores significantly different for women versus men? Provide a rationale for your answer. Yes, body image scores were significantly higher for women (73.1 Â ± 17.0) than men (60.2 Â ± 17.0). 6. Assuming that the distribution of Mental Health scores for men is normal, where are 99% of the men’s mental health scores around the mean in this distribution? Round your answer to two decimal places. x= 57.09, SD=23.72 57.09+2.58(23.72)= 118.2876 57.09-2.58(23.72)= -4.1076 (-4.11, 118.29) 7. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Physical Functioning in women is normal, where are 99% of the women’s scores around the mean in this distribution? Round your answer to two decimal places. X= 65.20, SD=29.79 65.20+2.58(29.79) = 142.0582 65.20-2.58(29.79) = -11.6582 (-11.66, 142.06) 8. Assuming that the distribution of scores is normal, 99% of HIV-positive body image scores around the mean were between what two values? Round your answer to two decimal places. Body image scores for Male x= 60.22, SD=16.98; Female x= 73.07, SD= 16.93 Male: 60.22+2.58(16.98)= 104.0284 60.22-2.58(16.98)= 16.4116 Female: 73.07+2.58(16.93)= 116.7494 73.07-2.58(16.93)= 29.3906 Male and Female HIV+ Body Image scores combined are between (16.41, 116.75) 9. Assuming that the distribution of scores for Role Functioning is normal, 99% of the men’s scores around the mean were between what values? Round your answer to two decimal places. x=50.00, SD=46.29 50.00+2.58(46.29)= 169.4282 50.00-2.58(46.29)=-69.4282 (-69.43,169.43)

Saturday, January 4, 2020

Ethical and Legal Issues Within Wal-Mart - 1562 Words

Introduction Wal-Mart is commonly known for its low prices, clean appearance, and large variety of products; however, the super store has constituently been the center of many ethical issues. From working conditions, wages, benefits, product issues, and even bribery, Wal-Mart has been shrouded in ethical disputes for years. In the next few pages I intend on discussing these issues, the impact they have had on the company, and the actions that management has taken in response to them. Predatory Pricing To begin discussing the ethical issues that Wal-Mart has faced in regards to predatory pricing, we must first understand what predatory pricing is. According to Investopedia.com; predatory pricing is â€Å"the act of setting prices low in an†¦show more content†¦In fact, in 2012, 80 employees walked out of a Wal-Mart to protest the substandard conditions in which they were forced to work (Miles, 2012). As stated in an article published in the Huffington Post; â€Å"workers are forced to work in 120-degree heat without a fan, that the heat and pollutants make the workers vomit and get bloody noses, and that workers are made to work without clean water or regular breaks and with faulty, dangerous equipment† (Miles, 2012). More recently in Illinois, 100 Wal-Mart employees protested outside of Wal-Mart express, demanding better wages and improved working conditions. One protester, Larry Born, described Wal-Mart as a â€Å"predatory employer† who â€Å"pays slave wages†. Mr. Born also stated that â€Å" is repeatedly asked to work eight or nine days in a row† (Rezin, 2013) . This protest in Illinois was held at the same time as another which was taking place in Arkansas, for the same reasons. Issues with Local Communities Generally people are excited when they hear that a Wal-Mart is being built in their community. They envision jobs, savings, convenience, and one stop shopping, and although this is all true; studies have shown that Wal-Mart can have extremely negative effects on the communities in which they are built. In fact, research was done in 2012 to examine the impact a new Wal-Mart wouldShow MoreRelatedBusiness Ethics And Law : Legal And Ethical Issues1213 Words   |  5 PagesLegal and Ethical Issues in Business Business ethics and law are fundamental principles that guide the way businesses operate. Business ethics are decided and formed by each company and differ from one company to another. They are the core values that business owners, managers, and employees use to conduct their daily operations. Acting in an ethical way consists of distinguishing between right and wrong and choosing what is right. Business law is all rules and regulations that all businesses shouldRead MoreWomen vs Walmart1358 Words   |  6 PagesWOMEN VERSE WAL-MART Women Verse Wal-Mart, the Largest Class Action Lawsuit in History Jeremy Banks LEG100 October 31, 2012 Professor, Harden WOMEN VERSE WAL-MART Abstract Women nationwide have joined a class action lawsuit against Wal-Mart. The women are suing based on gender bias. They claim men are promoted faster and receive higher pay. This is especially noticed in the management ranks. The lawsuit could have been avoided with better training within the companyRead MoreThe Importance of Ethical Business Practices: Walmart Law Suites 842 Words   |  4 PagesThis issues study is aimed to explain the importance of ethical business practices which also include social responsibilities and will be compared to an example of an unethical business practice. It will explore the different unethical issues in business, the benefits of running an ethical business and this will be done with reference to a certain case study. Ethics are moral guidelines which govern good behavior. For a business to behave ethically, it must follow strict guidelines which ensureRead MoreCorporate Social Responsiblity and Wal-Mart914 Words   |  4 PagesSocial Responsibility and Wal-Mart Corporations deal with a wide variety of social issues and problems; some directly related to their operations, some are not. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) can be defined as â€Å"the actions of an organization that are targeted toward achieving a social benefit over and above maximizing profits for its shareholders and meeting all its legal obligations† (Ghillyer 78). If this is the case, establishing appropriate and practical ethical guidelines in the workplaceRead MoreCorporate Social Responsibility Essay882 Words   |  4 PagesCorporations deal with a wide variety of social issues and problems; some directly related to their operations, some are not. Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) can be defined as â€Å"the actions of an organization that are targeted toward achieving a social benefit over and above maximizing profits for its shareholders and meeting all its legal obligations† (Ghillyer 78). If this is the case, establishing appropriate and practi cal ethical guidelines in the workplace seems to be a reasonable requestRead MoreCase Study : Legal Issues And Wal Mart1573 Words   |  7 PagesCase Study 5: Legal Issues and Wal-Mart Introduction Wal-Mart is one of the largest retailers established worldwide. With the corporation’s growth rate and international recognition, the demand to employ millions of associates, to support its operation, and at a rapidly expanding rate. Because of this, there are potential issues that develop around its growth and reputation, that lead to legal situations. Author, Timothy Jordan on Workplace Fairness (2016) notes, â€Å"all too often, these headlinesRead MoreCurrent Ethical Issue in Business1476 Words   |  6 PagesCurrent Ethical Issue in Business Your Name Here PHL/323 Date Here Instructor’s Name Here Globally, Wal-Mart is the second largest revenue generating company. It is surprising to see so many discriminating issues within the company. Women working for the company are consistently treated unfairly, yet other issues exist. It is as if Wal-Mart has fallen into the negative economic routine. The company is guilty of everyday social discrimination;Read MoreWal Mart As A Symbol Of The United States1613 Words   |  7 PagesOverview: Sam Walton founded Wal-Mart in 1962 in Roger, Arkansas. In a little less than 10 years, Wal-Mart had 38 locations and was opening two stores per year. In 1970, the company started trading in the New York Stock Exchange. By 1979, the company announced a record $1billion sales and it became the first company to do so. Wal-Mart reached record after record during those years, and by the end of 1989, Wal-Mart reported after tax-profits of $1billlion. Wal-Mart now has become a symbol of theRead MoreWal Mart : The Challenge Of Managing Relationships With Stakeholders1598 Words   |  7 PagesWal-Mart: The Challenge of Managing Relationships with Stakeholders The key facts and critical issues presented in Wal-Mart: The challenge of managing relationship with the interested parties involves making ethical decisions and fulfilling these needs for the stakeholders involved consist of the following elements: ïÆ'Ëœ Admitting to mismanage stakeholder’s relationship within the company as a problem: This type of management involves taking care of the treatment of employees, suppliers, the environmentRead MoreBusiness Ethics: Case Studies1238 Words   |  5 Pagesï » ¿Business Ethics Table of Contents Case 1: Monsanto Attempts to Balance Stakeholder Interests. 3 Case 3: Wal-Mart: The Future is Sustainability. 4 Case 6: AIG: Coping with financial and ethical risks. 4 Case 7: Microsoft Manages Legal and Ethical Issues. 5 Case 1: Monsanto Attempts to Balance Stakeholder Interests. Monsanto is a world renowned organization dealing in agriculture products. The seeds produced by the business are genetically modified. The genetically modified agricultural

Friday, December 27, 2019

William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet - 1869 Words

William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet In Romeo and Juliet, love is depicted in several ways. Both Luhrman and Shakespeare represent love in different ways in different contexts to both the Elizabethan era and the contemporary audience. Both the original and later manifestations of the text are valued because they both communicate to the audience on the values of love and society by employing a variety of devices. The central subject dealt within Romeo and Juliet is the subject of love. William Shakespeare and Baz Luhrman thus represent love to their audience beyond the distinct ideas of love as simple sentiments. In the play, there are 2 basic levels – the real world of Verona and the private, intimate sphere of Romeo and†¦show more content†¦This also reveals to the audience an empathy that the two â€Å"star-crossed† lovers were made fore each other. Luhrman achieves this via the use of smitten, longing looks, the close-up shots, and the music of Des’ree (Kissing You). Through Scene 5, Romeo continues to show himself as a hopeless romantic besotted with beautiful girls. His language indicates that he thinks of love and commitment in terms of sight: â€Å"Did my heart love till now? Forswear it sight! For I ne’er saw true beauty till this night†, as he says at his first glimpse of Juliet. This statement recalls Scene 2, in which he spoke of â€Å" the devout religion of mine eye† and said that if his eyes were heretical enough o consider another girl more beautiful than his Rosaline, his tears would turn to fire and burn at stake. However, as soon as he lays his eyes on Juliet, his devotion to the apparently less beautiful Rosaline disappears – and a new religion is found for Romeo. Shakespeare thus portrays Romeo and his love as an infatuation. This infatuation is evident in how instantaneously Romeo falls out of love with Rosaline and into love with Juliet. At one stage, Rosaline was the â€Å"precious treasure of his eyesight†, yet Romeo’s embodiment of perfection was, a few scenes later, his notion of defectiveness. This therefore reveals to the audience the instantaneous and reckless path of the two lovers, as well as the fickleness of adolescent â€Å"love†, diminishing at the sight ofShow MoreRelatedWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet558 Words   |  2 PagesWilliam Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet is a tragic story of two young lovers whose lives are cut short due to the rivalry of their families, the Capulets and the Montagues. The family feud has been present for decades but once Romeo and Juliet meet they are instantaneously in love. Love at first sight some would say. But could love at first sight really be the case? No i t could not. There are many things that serve to prove Romeo and Juliet were not in love. At the beginning of the play Romeo isRead MoreGender In Romeo, Juliet And William Shakespeares Romeo And Juliet1500 Words   |  6 Pagesof masculinity; the ability to act boldly and with purpose. Both directors draw upon the themes of gender to tell their stories subtly and effectively. The theme of gender is significant in both films being contrasted in this essay; William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet (Luhrmann Martinelli, 1996) and Hamlet (Davey, Lovell Zeferelli 1990). The two films were released six years apart in the decade of the nineties; Zeffirelli does not seek to embody an evolved gender presentation at all, while LuhrmannRead MoreSympathy for Juliet in William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet693 Words   |  3 PagesSympathy for Juliet in William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet William Shakespeare wrote Romeo and Juliet in 1595 and it is still popular today. Its full title is The Most Excellent and Lamentable Tragedy of Romeo and Juliet. It is a romantic tragedy set in Verona, about two lovers, whose families are at war with each other. I am concentrating on Act III scene V, but I will summarise the story up to this scene. So far, two lovers Romeo and Juliet agree to be marriedRead MoreWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Essay809 Words   |  4 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Romeo and Juliet is a play based mainly around the theme of love. This theme is good for building a play around because if there is love then you can have hate to contrast it, and many other emotions can be brought in. Love also makes the story interesting to an audience of Shakespeares time; also to audiences of more modern timesRead More Responsibility for the Deaths of Romeo and Juliet in William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet1449 Words   |  6 Pages Taking Responsibility for the Deaths of Romeo and Juliet in William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Romeo and Juliet, the star crossed lovers, the perfect sadly losing there lives for their great love of each other. The tragic death has many characters to blame, but it is impossible to pinpoint the full responsibility on one individual character. Many of the characters in Romeo and Juliet blame each other, for example, the Prince blames the two families and feud forRead MoreWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Essay1768 Words   |  8 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Although William Shakespeare wrote the story of ‘Romeo and Juliet’ in the 1500s, the themes depicted in the play had been around for centuries. It was a classic tragic love story. William Shakespeare needed his story to appeal and be accessible to as many people as possible. The main problem was that many people at the time could not read, therefore producing a book was pointless. So he decided to write the story of ‘Romeo andRead MoreWilliam Shakespeares Romeo And Juliet Essay1296 Words   |  6 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo And Juliet Shakespeares most famous tragedy is probably the tale of Romeo and Juliet. The immortal tale of two star-crossd lovers destined to an early demise, originated in Italian folklore. Shakespeares prologue is possibly the most insightful piece of the play regarding their death and the explanation of it. The ancient grudge immediately sets the ominous tone of the play. This allows the audience to understand that their deathRead More William Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Essay1690 Words   |  7 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Although the story of Romeo and Juliet is over 500 years old, it is as relevant and appealing today as it was when first performed. Although dated, the story of Romeo and Juliet still holds great appeal and relevance to today’s society, despite the differences in morals and values between William Shakespeare’s audience 500 years ago, and Baz Luhrmann’s audience today. The arising issues of order and authority, fate and love entertain/ed and appeals/edRead MoreWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Essay602 Words   |  3 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet â€Å"Romeo and Juliet† is a romantic tragedy written by William Shakespeare in 1595, which is over 400 years ago. Romeo and Juliet are â€Å"two star-crossed lovers†, who fell in love at first sight and struggle through circumstances, which ends with their death. There are some characters that are to blame for their deaths and some more than others. The Montagues are someway to blame for the deaths of Romeo and Juliet becauseRead MoreWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Essay1016 Words   |  5 PagesWilliam Shakespeares Romeo and Juliet Act One Scene Five is such an important scene because its the first time that the two lovers, Romeo and Juliet meet. When they see each other for the first time, they fall in love straight away and is the start of the main point of the play. When Romeo sees Juliet for the first time he makes two comments about how pretty she is O, she doth teach the torches to burn bright! and I neer saw true beauty till this night, and he

Thursday, December 19, 2019

Media s Negative Portrayal Of African American Males

Student’s name: Instructor: Institutional affiliation: MEDIA’S NEGATIVE PORTRAYAL OF AFRICAN AMERICAN MALES PERTAINING TO CRIME Introduction Once Jim Morrison said that whoever controls the media controls the mind. This shows that he had recognized the immense power and influence that the media has in our day to day lives. The media plays a very important role in the society as the source of information for every person. Hence, it is very hard for the modern society to live without the media. As a result of the media being the major source of information in our society, it is an undeniable fact the media shapes people’s opinions, attitudes and actions on particular issues (Czopp Monteith, 2006). However, the media also plays a major role in promoting some negative effects and stereotypes in our society. A good example of stereotypes is the way African American males are described. The media normally depicts them negatively as violent, cruel, criminals as well as having other antisocial behavior that the causations don’t have. These negative representations of dark guys are promptly obvious and passed on to general society through the news bulletin, films, music features, realty TV and other programming and manifestations of media (Abraham Appiah, 2006). As a result, the media has created a crooked and damaging perception of black African Americans in the public’s eye thus promoting hatred and racism which all affect the lives of the blacks (Holt, 2013). ThisShow MoreRelatedThe General Public s View Of African American Athletes Essay1184 Words   |  5 Pagesstudy I would like to research how these articles effects the general public’s view of African A merican athletes. I would do this by surveying groups of classrooms, students around campus, and showing them athletes. I would show them both African American athletes and White Athletes. I would ask them how they feel about these athletes, why they feel this way about them, and what have they heard about them in the media. After collecting this data, and gathering my conclusion from it, I would like to goRead MoreStereotypes And Stereotypes Of African Americans Essay1468 Words   |  6 PagesAfrican Americans have been represented in the media with harmful stereotypes which were founded in the slavery era (Cartier, 2014)(Carpenter, 2012). This negative representation invites bias from those who accept the images, the distortion of which is accentuated by both sexism and racism. Black women are the least represented group in cinema, making it easier to rely on stereotypes which encourage societal bias. From these stereotypes, like the Jezebel and Sapphire, stem the â€Å"real wor ld† stereotypesRead MoreAnalysis Of The Movie The Clansman 1720 Words   |  7 PagesThe media often paints a picture of certain groups that may not be accurate for example, African Americans in the media are portrayed as criminals, drug addicts, or misogynist which also includes African American women are viewed as abrasive and promiscuous. While there are millions of responsible and respectable African Americans. They are not celebrated in the media. What the community sees are instead are thing in movies and on TV. This changes the general perception of African Americans and causeRead MoreMedia s Portrayal Of The Black Age Of Media Essay1393 Words   |  6 Pages(Gabrenya 3). The portrayal of the class system has always been underrepresented or over represented since the golden age of media. The question arises what kind of ideas it puts in the minds of viewers about their society? Media plays an important role in developing an image of people from other countries or communities because many people have no personal contact with people from other countries and rely mainly on media for information about them (Harris). Unfortunately, media’s portrayal of differentRead MoreAfrican American Stereotypes in the Media1396 Words   |  6 Pages10/02/12 African American Stereotypes in the Media When I first heard someone say, â€Å"All African American people are Ghetto,† I was very offended that someone would make this type of assumption about my culture, and I thought how ignorant this person must be; but then I stopped and wondered why other people would think this about us. I asked her why she would say something like this, and she instantly listed shows like Tosh.O and Chelsea Lately, which highlight my culture in a negative view. It wasRead MoreStereotyping Is Inevitable, By James Baldwin1717 Words   |  7 Pagesstudents, males, who were exposed to stereotyping, performed better on a mathematic exam compared to females, who were also exposed to stereotyping. In addition to this, males who were exposed to stereotyping preformed better then males who were not exposed. It was concluded that intellectual and academic measures are not just based on cognitive abilities, but a number of factor such as stereotyping in the class room (Nodiom, Elegbeleye and Williams 1-2). In this example stereotyping helps males excelRead MorePerception of the African American Males1600 Words   |  7 PagesPerception of the African American males African Americans males are considered dangerous based on a false identity, misconceptions, and misinformation that are available in the media; this includes but is not limited to rap music, news, and TV shows. This misconception can be traced as far back as slavery. The perception of blacks’ males as being dangerous began when the slave came to America on 1619. Due to the situation of being treated as property, to be freely bought and sold, andRead MoreGender Roles Of Video Games : Implications For Gender Socialization And Aggressive Behavior1576 Words   |  7 PagesDietz, Tracy L. (1998). An examination of violence and gender role portrayals in video games: Implications for gender socialization and aggressive behavior. Sex Roles, 38(5/6), 425-442). This study researches the potential effects on children by the use of gender representations and violence within popular video games. Outlined by the study of symbolic interactionism, the research questions the line between the representation of males and females, as well as how prominent violent topics are in gamesRead MoreAre African Americans Athletes Viewed More Negative Media? Essay1812 Words   |  8 PagesResearch Design Are African Americans athletes viewed more negative in the media, compared to white athletes? In this research design I will be researching articles and other media to see if African American athletes are viewed negative, or stereotyped compared to articles or media written about white athletes. I feel this is important because when the public is reading or viewing these articles, they are taking those negatives and stereotypes and applying them to all African American or other racialRead MoreThe Role Of Media On Influencing The Way People Perceive The Relationship And Punitive Attitudes Between Race And Crime Essay2079 Words   |  9 PagesIntroduction Public knowledge of a crime is predominantly obtained from the media. Crime-related media such as crime on the news and crime-dramas has proven to serve as a great impact in how countless individuals feel about the world surrounding them, and even more importantly, how they feel about the criminals portrayed by the media. This research paper examines the role the media plays on influencing the way people perceive the relationship and punitive attitudes between race and crime. In my